The men across the table from me

This question comes up often in my coaching:

“How come the same terrible/loser/jerk/unavailable/cheap/broke/overbearing/too young/too old/too quiet/too loud men keep showing up on the other side of the table from me?”

In answer to this question, I often talk about my own discovery in this area. I realized the other person at “each dinner with these men” was me. This discovery prompted me to ask myself, “What about me was attractive to them and what about them was attractive (enough) for me to go out with them?”

For example:

  • If they were unavailable, perhaps I needed to examine whether I was truly ready for a committed relationship.
  • If they were overbearing, I wondered if I was insecure about my own foundation.
  • If they were broke, I might need to look at how worthy I was feeling.

I discovered these men were often a mirror reflection of something I hadn’t realized about myself. This information gave me the power to change myself. This in turn brought more suitable men into my life.

Next week’s blog entry will discuss yet another analogy pertaining to “the terrible/loser/jerk/etc. men who keep showing up on the other side of the table.”

What’s happening in your dating life? Who do you find sitting across the table from you?

~ Christine
Dating and Relationship Expert

Goal Setting + Purposeful Dating = Satisfying Relationships

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

