Make that list… it works!

A few things I’ve been hearing from people lately:

What’s the point of writing out a list of what I want from a date/partner/husband/wife?

How do I know what to ask for?

How do I know I’ll get what I ask for?

The author of Harry Potter has a story that might change your perspective.

I recently heard an interview between Oprah and J.K. Rowling. Rowling said her friend asked her what she wanted in a man, and Rowling said she didn’t know. So being the great writer that she is, she decided to make a list. When it was done, she proudly showed it to her friend who said, “You can’t have all that.”

Rowling thought to herself, “Really? Hmmm…”

Two days later she met the man she married in 2005. He fit all the things on her list.

Seems like a great reason to clearly write out what you want. What do you think?

~ Christine
Dating and Relationship Expert

Goal Setting + Purposeful Dating = Satisfying Relationships

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Make that list… it works!”

  1. Jane Says:

    Are you sure it wasn’t the magic wand that brought that man to her? Seriously, I have taken your advice of creating a list and if nothing else comes of it, it has really helped me get clear on what I want and what I don’t want in a man, and that’s hugely important. Thanks for all your good advice.

  2. Christine Says:

    Great question Jane. I do think her pen was kind of a “magic wand.” I say this because I’ve found that if you’ve done the work to clear away your old beliefs and blocks then what you write down will happen.

    I’m so glad to hear that creating your list has helped you get clear on what you want and don’t want in a man.Such an important step.

    So, as a next step if you find that what you’re writing down isn’t what’s showing up then possibly what is showing up is attached to an old belief or block. So, stay aware of what is showing up and this will help you continue to fine tune your list.

Leave a Reply

