Is this relationship right for me?

I seem to have one of those faces that puts people (even strangers) at ease, and I’m honored by the interesting and personal thoughts people share with me. A topic that has been coming up a lot lately is:

“How do I know when I’m in a relationship that is right for me?”

Here are a few ways to test it:

Do you like the version of you this relationship brings out?

Is this version easy for you to maintain?

Are you no less happy to see your partner walk in the room than you were at the beginning of your relationship?

I’d also like to mention that this isn’t a “once and done” set of questions. Continue to ask yourself these questions on a regular basis. You will either say, “Yes, generally it’s just as good if not better.” Or you might say, “Not so good, and now what am I willing to do about it.”

I have a great story about this from back when I was a wedding planner. During my initial meeting with a groom’s parents, they shared with me something special they do each year on their own wedding anniversary. On the morning of their anniversary they ask each other, “So, do you want to do this another year?” At that point they had said yes for 45 years.

Besides thinking how committed they were to their marriage and learning what a great sense of humor they both had (very helpful when planning a wedding) my additional thought behind this arrangement was, “How would you treat your partner/spouse differently if you knew you would be asked this question each year?”

What do you think of this arrangement?

~ Christine
Dating and Relationship Expert

Goal Setting + Purposeful Dating = Satisfying Relationships

Tags:

Leave a Reply

